• Light turnout expected in Hendricks County for today’s election

    November 08, 2011 No comments

    With few contested races and a change in the voting system, voter turnout is expected to be light on this Election Day in Hendricks County. This year only contested races will be on the ballots. With many of the races having been decided back in the May primary, only a few town council and town office seats are up for grabs today.

    Because of the expected low turnout, many precincts in larger towns have been combined. Those residents that were affected were mailed a post card or letter notifying them of the change.

    Here are the Hendricks county races that will be decided today.

    A pair of town council seats in Avon are being sought by Republicans Dave Cox and Marcus Turner and Democrat Debra Ann Tolan.

    Three seats are available on the Amo Town Council and vying for those are Republicans Rene Gay, Dustin Strahl, and James Ronald Travelsted, and Democrat Donna Watson.

    Republican Vicki Short and Independent Ginny McKamey are battling for the Clayton clerk-treasurer seat.

    There are a pair of races for the Coatesville Town Council where Republican Eva Trump-Robinson is up against Independent Joe E. Jones, and Republican Dave Kinnett is battling Democrat Jerry Decker.

    Several Independents are vying for the clerk-treasurer position and a town council spot in Jamestown. Tamara (Katie) Conyer, Vickie Foster, and Sally Pratt are all eyeing the clerk-treasurer spot, while Richard Caldwell and Jack Trotter are running for the town council opening.

    In Pittsboro, Republican Shari Snyder and Democrat Rachael Hensley are running for clerk-treasurer, while Democrat Roger Crist and Republican Todd Henriksen are battling for a town council seat.

    Republican Renea Whicker is being challenged by Democrat Douglas Player for a seat on the Plainfield Town Council.

    In Stilesville, five candidates — Republicans Tracy Crum and Mark Trusty, and Democrats James Childress, William Matlock, and Robert Russell — are looking to claim the three town council seats.

    Anyone with questions or needing to confirm their precinct may call the Hendricks County Government Center at 745-9313 from 8 a.m. to 4 p.m. weekdays or visit the website at www.indianavoters.com.

  • Comments are closed.

Click to Open Browser Player

Local Weather

XRB Radio Weekly Newsletter

Sign up to receive our weekly emails regarding local news and sports, events, and specials offers - just for our friends in Hendricks County.


  • Facebook
  • Twitter