• Indiana Commission for Women honors 2014 Torchbearers

    March 06, 2014 No comments

    INDIANAPOLIS The Indiana Commission for Women (ICW) presented 14 women with a Torchbearer Award yesterday at its 10th Annual Ceremony at the Indiana Historical Society in Indianapolis. The women honored were selected from nominations submitted from around the state and have each made Indiana a better place to live, work and raise a family.

    Torchbearers_23“Indiana Torchbearers are those women who have been pioneers throughout their lives or who have stepped forward as leaders by breaking down barriers to women’s full participation,” said  Kristin Garvey, Executive Director for the Indiana Commission for Women. “These women have become true beacons of light and their stories of courage, perseverance and compassion create a lasting legacy of inspiration for us all.”

    Provided below are a list of awardees:

    • Lt. Governor Sue Ellspermann, Ferdinand, Indiana
    • Terri Austin, Anderson, Indiana
    • Betty Cockrum, Indianapolis, Indiana
    • Angela Espada, Indianapolis, Indiana
    • Cathlin Gray, Evansville, Indiana
    • Lisa Harris, Indianapolis, Indiana
    • Joyce Irwin, Indianapolis, Indiana
    • Velshonna Luckey, South Bend, Indiana
    • Alison Martin-Book, Indianapolis, Indiana
    • Deborah McMahan, Ft. Wayne, Indiana
    • Terri Morris Downs, Indianapolis, Indiana
    • Julie Lynn Myers, Martinsville, Indiana
    • Margret Robb, West Lafayette, Indiana
    • Ellen Rosenthal, Indianapolis, Indiana

    For more information about the 10th Anniversary Torchbearer Awards Program, contact Brad Meadows, Communications Director at 317-232-2651 or bmeadows@icrc.in.gov.

    Posted by in Local News

  • Comments are closed.

Click to Open Browser Player

Local Weather

XRB Radio Weekly Newsletter

Sign up to receive our weekly emails regarding local news and sports, events, and specials offers - just for our friends in Hendricks County.


  • Facebook
  • Twitter