• Governor Pence Names Dennis Bassett as Director of Department of Financial Institutions

    February 20, 2014 No comments

    Governor Mike Pence today named Dennis Bassett as the Director of the Department of Financial Institutions, a Cabinet-level position.

    “With four decades of experience managing financial institutions, Dennis Bassett’s breadth and depth of knowledge is incomparable,” said Governor Pence. “His experience will be invaluable to the administration, and I’m confident he will serve Hoosiers with the highest integrity as Director of the Department of Financial Institutions.”

    Bassett most recently served as Chairman of JPMorgan Chase Indiana from 2005 until his retirement in 2013. Bassett has also held a number of leadership roles at several financial institutions, including Indiana Chief Executive Officer for Bank One, Indiana President of Huntington Bank, Senior Managing Director and Manager of Large Corporate Banking at Bank One Capital Markets, and Senior Vice President and Manager of Large Corporate Banking for the Midwest Division at First Chicago NBD.

    Actively involved across the state, Bassett is a member of the Butler University Board of Trustees, the Indiana State Chamber of Commerce, and the Central Indiana Corporate Partnership. He also serves as Director of the Greater Indianapolis Progress Committee, the Indiana Sports Corporation, the Indianapolis Symphony Orchestra, the Center for Leadership Development, and the Arts Council of Indianapolis. He is Board President of the Sharon L. Bassett Foundation.

    He is a graduate of Eastern Illinois University, where he earned his undergraduate degree, Butler University, where he earned his master’s degree, and the Stonier Graduate School of Banking at Rutgers University.

    Posted by in Local News

  • Comments are closed.

Click to Open Browser Player

Local Weather

XRB Radio Weekly Newsletter

Sign up to receive our weekly emails regarding local news and sports, events, and specials offers - just for our friends in Hendricks County.


  • Facebook
  • Twitter