• Big Ten Divisions Announced

    September 02, 2010 No comments

    The Big Ten announced its divisional breakdown Wednesday night and Purdue and Indiana will be in the same six-team division when the league expands to 12 members in 2011.

    Neither division has been named but they break down like this: Michigan, Nebraska, Iowa, Michigan State, Minnesota and Northwestern will be in one division while Ohio State, Penn State, Wisconsin, Illinois, Purdue and Indiana are in the other. The divisions are for football only and do not affect basketball.

    Indiana and Purdue will continue to close out their regular seasons against one another with the Old Oaken Bucket game. Conference newcomer Nebraska will not play either the Hoosiers or Boilermakers in either 2011 or 2012.

    Ohio State and Michigan while in different divisions will still close out their regular seasons playing against each other.

    Teams will play every team in their own division plus two teams from the other division on a rotating basis. For the first two years, IU will play Northwestern and Iowa while Purdue will face Michigan and Minnesota.

    Nebraska will join the Big Ten as its 12th team next year, allowing the conference to split into two divisions and add a lucrative championship game. The first Big Ten football championship game will be played in Indianapolis at Lucas Oil Stadium.

    Posted by in Local Sports

  • Comments are closed.

Click to Open Browser Player

Local Weather

XRB Radio Weekly Newsletter

Sign up to receive our weekly emails regarding local news and sports, events, and specials offers - just for our friends in Hendricks County.


  • Facebook
  • Twitter